Favorite Mounts and Pets

Hey everyone,

For those of you who know me, there’s a pretty good chance I’ve mentioned my favorite ground/flying mount, and my two favorite pets. These mounts and pets are all items I’ve obtained over the years of playing this game, so I’m quite happy to show you them with screenshots. As a note, I got the idea to put this topic in my 20 in 20 from my friend Zeirah, who talked about this topic herself.

My favorite mounts are: Fiery Warhorse (Midnight) and the Pureblood Fire Hawk (from 4.2 Ragnaros), by far. I’ve always loved Midnight since the day I heard the horse was rideable. I had never seen it from during the 52+ weekly kills my Karazhan team had done during Burning Crusade. I always wanted it, and I created my first paladin with the intent of duoing old content with my cousin just so we could obtain old mounts.

Fortunately, that goal worked out perfectly for me. Within a year or two, after my cousin won the ZG Raptor over me, we agreed that the next mount to drop would be mine. As you can imagine the next mount to drop was indeed Midnight, and I could not have been happier. While my cousin never was able to obtain his favorite mount, the ZG tiger, I’ve been lucky enough to ride this mount for about three and a half years.

Midnight and I, looking over the valley:
Image

My favorite flying mount took much more effort than Midnight. At the time we needed to kill Ragnaros on heroic difficulty to be guarenteed the mount, and only several weeks left before 5.0 hit and nerfed the drop rate. My guild had put together group after group with the intent on having every raider obtain it, but I always lost the roll. I was one of the final people left on the list to get it when we had decided that the next one was guarenteed to be mine.

Pureblood Fire Hawk, in original colours:
Image

The reason I wanted this mount was unique in comparison to the rest of the raid; most of them wanted to fly on it or obtain it because it was rare. I wanted it so that I could combine it with my favorite pet in the game, to make it the true mount I wanted: http://www.wowhead.com/item=69226/green-fire-hawk-mount

Pureblood Fire Hawk with my favorite pet:
Image

The Disgusting Oozeling has the power to change everything about your character green, which includes mounts and other effects. This is easily why it’s my favorite mount. In fact, I love them so much that I entered MoP with the intent to pet battle using three of them as my team.

Disgusting Oozeling turning me green:
Image

My second favorite pet is Lucky, the golden pig. Unfortunately he is from the World Wide Invitational event in 2007, and cannot be obtained anymore. However, blizzard added many new pets to their Recruit a Friend reward system, which includes the Golden Pig. It looks exactly like Lucky, and so I named mine Lucky after being given a free reward from Blizzard. (Still no idea why I got a free reward and some people didn’t)

This little piggy is golden and lovable:
Image

Now that I have my two favorite pets and mounts, that aspect of the game is purely for collections now. It’s a bit of a relief not to have to worry anymore, but I do miss chasing all of my favorite mounts. I guess that time has passed.

As a bonus, I will show you all the combinations I can make with my Pureblood Fire Hawk, I’m sure there’s more I could do if I tried harder, and there’s more others can do, but I don’t want to have an infinitely long wall of pictures.

Aqua Jewel + Pureblood Fire Hawk:
Image

Aqua Jewel + Disgusting Oozeling + Pureblood Fire Hawk:
Image

Kang’s Bindstone + Pureblood Fire Hawk:
Image

Kang’s Bindstone + Disgusting Oozeling + Pureblood Fire Hawk:
Image

There’s also a weird bug where the colours of the last two pictures stays a bit more orange (I call it a bug because it used to not happen ever, now it does)

Bugged Kang’s Bindstone + Pureblood Fire Hawk:
Image

Bugged Kang’s Bindstone + Disgusting Oozeling + Pureblood Fire Hawk:
Image

As a ‘second’ bonus, Midnight + Disgusting Oozeling:
Image

Yes, my favorite colour is green.

Thanks for reading, I hope you look forward to the future posts. Leaving feedback or suggestions is appreciated. As a final reminder (and shameless plug), I am the Paladin Moderater on Icy Veins, one of the leading sites for all sorts of WoW Guides. I recommend checking them out as you main source of class knowledge.

I can be contacted at Fouton@live.com, messaging me through Icy Veinโ€™s forums, or by finding me in-game on Fouton-Argent Dawn, Eiliar-Argent Dawn, or Deathfouton-Earthen Ring.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Favorite Mounts and Pets

  1. Zeirah says:

    I love the combinations of colours that you can get with the hawk. Combining it with the aqua jewel is just lovely. I’m so hearing you on how amazing Midnight is as a mount; it’s by far my favourite in the game and pretty much the only thing in the game I have ever seriously set out to farm; I’m just really lucky it only too me a number of months (though admittedly I was doing it up to 7 times a week) rather than years ๐Ÿ™‚

    • deathfouton says:

      Nice ๐Ÿ˜› I was only doing once week for the first year due to only having one 70, then it took my cousin and I two toons and 3 weeks of kills, we got the tiger and midnight so quickly, then nothing ever again.

    • deathfouton says:

      I also didn’t mention it, but if you have the Corrupted Fire Hawk from the Firelands Meta achievement, you can make some other mixes, most of which are some shade of gray

Leave a Reply

