Bad Habits – Meter Reading

Hey everyone,

Today I’ll be talking about bad habits and flaws that you can quickly pick up from this game. Most of us have experienced them firsthand, and we’ve also experienced them from other players. There are 3 things I want to talk about: your emotional response to others mentioning your performance, the interpretation of anyone’s performance, and the cause of both of these problems- meters.

Meters can be one of the most helpful tools in the game. They can tell you exactly what you’ve done wrong, what you’ve done right, and most importantly; they show you what you need to improve on. However, the problem is that most people believe this information is the DPS listed on their meter at the end of each boss fight. This is not the number they should look at to measure their play.

The way to correctly measure yourself on an in-game meter like Skada is pretty difficult compared to Warcraftlogs.com, where you can see all the percentages in front of you. You have quick access to the important information, such as comparing yourself to better players. The first step to knowing if you’ve perfected your DPS is to check whether your damage breakdown is what it should be, based on the better player’s log. If you’re at 70% of your damage from melee swings, obviously you are doing tons of things wrong, but the main thing you need to find out is what spells you aren’t casting. Once you have the correct breakdown you can see what needs to be used more, what needs to be used less, and perhaps there are spells you shouldn’t even be using as your spec.

As you start to perform rotation correctly, you will be able to see that there are more intricate ways of increasing your dps, such as proper CD usage, knowing when your rotation differs (as an example, your starting rotation is almost always different compared to your normal rotation). If you continue to analyze your dps, and compare yourself to someone better, or a perfect standard, you will be able to continually increase your skill.

As for dealing with other players who talk about meters, I personally recommend just ignoring them, unless they’re making a public scene about it. If a player is going on about how your dps is poor, the best thing to do is check your meter, see if you actually are underperforming, and acknowledge them. If you are playing exactly correct, tell them it’s a gear/class issue, you are playing your rotation correctly based on <x y z> standards. If you are the problem, tell them you apologize for being one of lower skilled players in the group, and tell them you are learning. Most people will sympathize with that.

However, there’s always that one individual going around and calling you out for no reason, just because he can. Perhaps you’re a healer and he’s making fun of your damage because he is that oblivious. In this situation, I would normally wreck the person, telling them every single thing they are wrong about, but there’s also a better approach. The approach I like to use when I feel I could be outnumbered if I start a scene, is to whisper the better players in the raid. Talk to them about how the guy is being a dick and that you’re just learning (First make sure they aren’t in group with the dick).

With that, you can talk more publicly, and nicely about it, and the more skilled players are probably going to back you up. You won’t always ‘win’ every confrontation, and for the times you still get removed, try not to get upset when you are kicked. Listen to music, take a break, and just try to calm down. Never go to that persons server, or communicate with them in any way, it just makes them feel better and take shots at you even more, you won’t feel better about it.

Finally, when you look at other players’ meters, you have to understand that you don’t know their full story. Often times there is a player struggling, and you might think they’re some terrible noob, but let’s look at it from a different angle. World of Warcraft doesn’t have a tooltip telling people where to go for information, it doesn’t have a guide on how to understand meters, nor does it have a guide on dealing with every raid.

If you find someone underperforming their gear, it will be because they don’t know better and need help fixing the issue, or because they’re currently working on fixing the issue. I would say the best approach to talking to someone about their dps is to whisper them something like “I was just looking at your damage breakdown and I was curious if you’d like some help.” From here you can talk to them, address the problems you know how to solve, and fo`r the ones you don’t; just send them to Icy Veins.

As I recall from an experiment done by another player; it is entirely possible to level to 90 and gear up on a DPS character, without even pushing a button or getting whispered about your play. The community is usually filled with people don’t care, people who care but wont speak up, or people who care and speak up in a negative way. There are a few exceptions of course, but sadly that is such a small percent of the WoW community, I wouldn’t even notice them in a crowd.

Thanks for reading, I hope you look forward to the future posts. Leaving feedback or suggestions is appreciated. As a final reminder (and shameless plug), I am the Paladin Moderater on Icy Veins, one of the leading sites for all sorts of WoW Guides. I recommend checking them out as you main source of class knowledge.

I can be contacted at Fouton@live.com, messaging me through Icy Vein’s forums, or by finding me in-game on Fouton-Argent Dawn, Eiliar-Argent Dawn, or Deathfouton-Earthen Ring.

This entry was posted in 20 in 20, Personal Experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bad Habits – Meter Reading

  1. I usually try ignoring the people with the meters as much as possible and continue playing the way that I have. Yes, you’ll get a few that will call you out even if you’re doing everything right, it makes them feel superior or something. If I am having issues, I usually to to people I know that are truly better players and get their advice and not their abuse. 😀

    • deathfouton says:

      A great way to deal with it! I remember whenever I had a problem healing/tanking, I’d find a top guild raider and log to their server to whisper them for a bit. Surprisingly enough, all the ones that were not AFK responded kindly.

  2. “Perhaps you’re a healer and he’s making fun of your damage because he is that oblivious.”

    I’ve totally had this happen before: http://mechalis.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/why_not_to_be_an_elitist.png

    The best solution I’ve yet found is to right-click and begin the vote-kick process, sometimes attempting to expedite it by whispering friends I brought with me or friendly players I have I rapport with in the LFR. It doesn’t always work (I did snarky battle with a warlock for two LFRs straight – he was an asshat, yet nobody would kick him because he was also one of the top DPS), but quite often, when they’ve gotten to the point of insulting healers for their DPS, they’ve also annoyed the crap out of everyone else too.

    • deathfouton says:

      I remember this screenshot from somewhere! This screenshot was why I remembered to mention that case =P I’ve seen a few cases of this myself, It’s just the worst.

  3. Also, “tell them it’s a gear/class issue”

    There are two instances in which this does not work AT ALL: the healer (usually a monk) shows up in agility gear, or the tank (usually a paladin) shows up in healing/DPS plate. Yesterday I had a tank show up to the Iron Juggernaut fight in a full set of healing PvP plate! When we of course wiped because he was squishy as heck, people inspected him and any sympathy they might have had went right out the window.

    • deathfouton says:

      That case is for if -you- are the one low on meters. For other people doing that, I would have to say revert to assume they’re just completely unaware and try to talk to them about it. I always hate running into people like that, drives me absolutely crazy, but I do have to explain to them what’s going on. If they seem to refuse to learn I let them crash and burn.

Leave a Reply

