Account Bound Achievements

Hey everyone,

I had some posts planned for today but there’s been a lot going on lately. Instead I’ve decided to write about something that just came to my mind about 3 minutes ago: Achievements being Account Bound.

Most people agree that it was a wonderful addition to the game to set these achievements to an account bound setting, and I personally love it. What I don’t enjoy however, is playing a new character, that has no ties to my old characters, and this new character suddenly has all these prestigous titles.

Who is this random dwarf paladin that hasn’t even reached max level? Why does he have all these epic titles for things he has never done?

Personally, I want to turn this off for certain characters. If I’m playing on a Role Playing realm so that I can pretend this character is a seperate entity from myself or my other characters, why does he share the achievements of my others, and why can’t I easily track what achievements I need to re-obtain for him?

I really hope blizzard can add in the option to split characters from the achievement merging. Perhaps have a Character, Account, and Guild tab when looking at the achievements panel? I’m currently soloing some WotLK heroics on my 86 paladins, but I don’t know what achievements I still need to obtain to rightfully have the Red Proto Drake mount unlocked. If I were to use it right now, I would feel like a cheater.

Another take on this problem is for those who like to start games over. People like to restart a game, unlock all those same achievements with new characters, perhaps with a different play style. What if I wanted to obtain everything again without ever grouping with someone? I want to be able to actually see what achievements I was able to take on alone, instead of try to find them by mousing over each and everyone one of them to see “Earned by Bliin” or “Not completed by Bliin.”

Just some random thoughts on account-bound achievements and how they’re hurting my playing experience. It is not too big of an issue, but I really wish I could have that option.

Thanks for reading, I hope you look forward to the future posts. Leaving feedback or suggestions is appreciated. As a final reminder (and shameless plug), I am the Paladin Moderater on Icy Veins, one of the leading sites for all sorts of WoW Guides. I recommend checking them out as you main source of class knowledge.

I can be contacted at Fouton@live.com, messaging me through Icy Vein’s forums, or by finding me in-game on Fouton-Argent Dawn, Eiliar-Argent Dawn, or Deathfouton-Earthen Ring.

This entry was posted in 20 in 20, Random Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

